Following the resignations of Dr. Pat Glibert and Dr. Michael McGuire from the National Research Council’s Committee on Sustainable Water and Environmental Management in the California Bay-Delta, three new members were named to the Committee.  The three new members are Dr. John Connolly, Dr. Hans Paerl, and Dr. Stephen Monismith.  A complete list of the committee members with brief accompanying biographies is available here.

The Committee met on July 13 in Sacramento to discuss its second task.  The agenda for that meeting is available here.  At the July 13 meeting, representatives of the federal government asked the Committee to consider amending its existing task by agreeing to conduct a review of the draft Bay Delta Conservation Plan (BDCP).  The draft BDCP is due out in late 2010.  A schedule for completion of the BDCP is available here.  It is unclear whether the Committee will agree to take on the additional task proposed by the federal government.  It is also unclear whether Congress must authorize the proposed change to the Committee’s existing task statement and appropriate additional funding for the purpose of completing the additional task.